U.S. and Mexico submit bid to co-host 2027 Women’s World Cup




The United States and Mexico submitted a joint bid on Friday to co-host the 2027 women’s World Cup that, if successful, would see the North American neighbours stage global football’s two showcase events in back-to-back years.

Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands earlier on Friday put in a joint bid to be the 2027 hosts, while Brazil put forward their bid to world football governing body FIFA last month.

U.S. Soccer said in a statement that bringing the women’s World Cup to North America would capitalise on a moment of extraordinary growth in women’s sports to deliver a tournament of unprecedented success.

The United States and Mexico, along with Canada, are set to co-host the 2026 men’s World Cup but rather than viewing that as negative U.S. Soccer president Cindy Parlow Cone described it as a huge plus.

“This is a pivotal time for women’s football,” said Parlow Cone. “The U.S. and Mexico are in a unique position to host a World Cup that will leverage the same venues, infrastructure, and protocols used for the Men’s World Cup just a year prior.

“This will not only unlock the economic potential of women’s football, it will send a message to young players around the world that there is no limit to what they can achieve.”

ALSO READ | London to host The Best FIFA Football Awards 2024

Member associations had until Friday to submit their bids to FIFA. South Africa had also submitted a bid but withdrew last month, saying they felt it was better to present a “well-prepared bid” for the 2031 edition.

“Extensive and detailed consultations between the three federations along with key stakeholders including central governments dates back to 2021,” the Dutch football federation (KNVB) said in a statement accompanying the European nations’ bid.

“This has led to alignment around the belief that our three countries are well placed to stage a FIFA Women’s World Cup 2027 of unparalleled quality and impact.”

FIFA will organise on-site inspection visits to bidding countries in February before the hosts are appointed in May by the FIFA Congress.

The 2023 tournament was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand this year, with Spain beating England in the final.


Source link

━ more like this

China Sanctions: China sanctions US firm Kharon, provider of research on Xinjiang

BEIJING: China's foreign ministry said it had sanctioned Kharon, a US firm founded by former treasury department officials that provides data to companies...

Bry-Air Conducts the 13th Biannual Eye Camp to Support Underprivileged People Suffering from Eye-Related Problems

Bry-Air Conducts the 13th Biannual Eye Camp to Support Underprivileged People Suffering from Eye-Related Problems Staying true to its commitment to enhancing lives through CSR...

Ukraine: Ukraine claims destruction of major Russian navy vessel in Crimea

Ukraine's air force said on Tuesday that it had destroyed a major Russia landing ship stationed in the Crimean waters, after the Russian-installed...

Mavericks’ Luka Doncic reaches 10,000-point career milestone

Mavericks star Luka Doncic reached 10,000 career points during the first quarter of Dallas’ road game against the Phoenix Suns. Doncic reached 10,000...

Indonesia nickel plant explosion death toll rises to 18

JAKARTA: The death toll after an explosion at a Chinese-funded nickel-processing plant in eastern Indonesia over the weekend has risen to 18 with...